Dedman Moving to Peel, Leaves New Vacancy With City Exec Staff

The City of Guelph had a solid 18 months there without a high-profile shuffle at the executive level of City of Guelph staff, but the streak came to end Tuesday with the announcement that the current Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Infrastructure, Development and Enterprise Services is moving on at the end of March. The search is now on for Kealy Dedman’s replacement.

It was announced by the City of Guelph Monday morning that Dedman will be leaving her current position and heading down the 401 to Peel Region to take up the position of Commissioner of Public Works where she will oversee construction, road maintenance, water and wastewater, garbage disposal and the region’s accessible transportation services.

“We’ve been very fortunate to have had Kealy on our team,” said CAO Scott Stewart in a statement. “Her strong people leadership, commitment to public service, and extensive experience in the field have served us well and are just some of the reasons she’s been exceptionally well suited for this role.”

“On behalf of our executive team and City staff, I extend my heartfelt thanks to Kealy for the professionalism and commitment she has brought to her work with the City of Guelph,” Stewart added. “We wish her nothing but the best in her new role.”

Dedman was named the Deputy CAO in August 2019 when the former Deputy, Scott Stewart, was elevated to his present position as Chief Administrative Officer. She’s worked for the City of Guelph since 2013 when she was hired as the City Engineer, and the manager of the Engineering and Transportation Services department. Her last day at the City of Guelph is March 26.

The City’s media release adds that the “process to replace Dedman is already underway”, and it’s a process that people at City staff have gotten very familiar with over the last several years.

There’s been a lot of turnover in the upper offices of City Hall in the last few years. The City of Guelph re-orgainzed their senior staff in 2014, and since then there have been numerous promotions and departures among the CAO position and the three deputies. The full list since 2007 is below:


Scott Stewart – served from 2019
Derrick Thomson -served from 2016 t0 2019
Ann Pappert – served from 2011 to 2016
Hans Loewig – served from 2007 to 2011


Trevor Lee – served from 2017 to present
Mark Amorosi – served from 2014 to 2017


Colleen Clack-Bush – served from 2016 to present
Derrick Thomson – served from 2014-2016


Kealy Dedman – served from 2019 to 2021
Scott Stewart – served from 2015 to 2019
Al Horsman – served from 2014 to 2015

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s